They Reminisce Over You…

Lamont Coleman (May 30, 1974 – February 15, 1999)

…Big L. Though I never was really into hip hop when I was young, I looked to my brother for music. He wanted me to listen to Big Pun, EPMD, Snoop Dogg, No Limit, and always said Big L. I was about 5-6 years old round 98-99. I was into cooties and being stupid, so I ignored it. So I hated rap until I really listened in 6th grade when I heard Biggie’s Ready to die. Then, I started really digging in the crates like Big Daddy Kane, KRS One, (92′ Can I borrow a Dollar) Common, Brand Nubian. Then Strictly Business, Amerikka’s Most Wanted, then Lifestylez Ov Da Poor & Dangerous. My brother said the way I rap now, I would be way more better and educated and skillful if I listened. Anyway, the first rap I heard of Big L was “Dangerzone” and didn’t listen to it until 2006. From then, I’ve been inspired by L’s style of imagery in his rhymes. “I got styles you can’t copy bitch/ Its the triple 6/ in the mix/ straight from H-E-double hockey sticks/every sunday/ a nun lay/ when my gun spray../ fuck carlito/ we doin’ shit the devil son’s way/”

He was so ill. If alive, Jay and hip-hop would’nt be the same. So Big L, Rest In Peace.


Leave a Reply

